ICMS CHAPTER

AUSTRALIA

HISTORY

In 2020, six years from the International Council of Malaysian Scholars and Associates’ growth into the current regions, the 10th  Council of the ICMS has officially expanded with their launch of the Australia Chapter. 

events

2021

The Lat Lat Show: Episode 1

Event Details

Date: 18 May 2021 (Tuesday) 

Time: 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.  (MYT) // 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. (AEDT)

Venue: Zoom

Event Description

The Australia Chapter of the International Council of Malaysian Scholars and Associates (ICMS) 🇦🇺 is excited to introduce our first flagship event called The Lat Lat Show! The Lat Lat Show is a six episode talk series aimed to promote professional development amongst the Malaysian youth where participants can hear from our successful guest speakers and directly engage with them. Our first episode will feature Wai Ken Wong who is the country manager of StashAway.

The talk show will consist of three main discussion topics: background/modern work, career pathways and university/life opportunities. Our talk show includes a question and answers session for participants to interact with our guest speaker.

ICMS x MASCA: Pre-Departure Welcoming

Event Details

Date: 30 July 2021 (Friday) 
Time: 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. (MYT) // 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. (AEST)
Venue: Zoom

Event Description

Confused about adapting and settling down in Australia as an international student? Excited to meet new friends going through the same journey as you are? We are here to help!

In continuation to the Pre-Departure event, the Australia Chapter of ICMS is collaborating with MASCA Victoria for our Welcoming Event. If you are a newly enrolled Malaysian student in a Victorian university or a student stuck in Malaysia looking to meet new friends, this event is definitely not one to miss! 

Hop on over to learn more about being an international student in Australia with our interesting Australian slang and culture session as well as our panel session where talented seniors will share their experiences in academics, internships and extracurriculars. Not to mention, the information sharing session by Malaysian organisations in Victoria too!

2020

ICMS CV Workshop: Stepping Up Your CV Game

Event Details

Date: 29th December 2020 (Tuesday)

Time: 2.00pm – 4.00pm (AEDT) // 11.00am – 1.00pm (MYT)

Venue: Zoom

Event Description

Trying to come up with the perfect CV for your next application, with no clue on how to do it? We get it! Writing the perfect CV can be a messy process and it’s never easy to start.

But don’t fret! We’ve got you covered! In collaboration with CIE, we’re bringing to you “Stepping up your CV Game”, a CV workshop dedicated to debunking any confusion and perfecting your CV. Join us and get ahead of the curve with tips and tricks to highlight your skills and achievements.

ICMS Christmas Special: Navigating Through Interviews

Event Details

Date: 19th December 2020
Time: 2.00pm – 5.00pm (AEDT) // 11.00am – 2.00pm (MYT)
Venue: Zoom

Event Description

Whether you are preparing for your first interview, looking for a new job, applying for positions in an organisation, wanting to be involved in a particular project as a committee, interviews are always involved. Interview performances are not merely being evaluated through how capable you are in your written documents but interviewers are keener to evaluate how you communicate, package your experience and tell your story.

Regardless of where you are, ICMS AU Chapter welcomes ALL Malaysian students to participate in our upcoming event where we ensure you being productive this Christmas!